gold star

Standard

You might laugh because every time I sign my name I put a gold star next to it, but it’s a metaphor, and metaphors are important. My gold stars are a metaphor for me, being a star. – Rachel Berry, Glee

I don’t have a golden star. I think I don’t need metaphors in order to remind me and others that I have so much talent, that I am very capable of doing what I love to do, whatever that is.

That’s because I challenge my self every time. I try to outdo what I have similarly done in the past, putting more effort and heart into whatever I need to do. But risks are well calculated in order to avoid desperation, for it is more painful to bear the disappointment with one’s self if expectations are not met.

While the actions of others might have some bearing on the outcome of my own actions, I am nevertheless only fully accountable to myself. No one is to be blamed other than my self. But blame is even an act of desperation and cowardice. Instead, learn from the failure and do better the next time. There are always opportunities to prove one’s worth.

I don’t have a gold star, and I don’t need one.  But I have my own star.

3 thoughts on “gold star

Leave a Reply

