Which road do I take?

Standard

“`Cheshire Puss,’ [Alice] began, rather timidly, as she did not at all know whether it would like the name: however, it only grinned a little wider. `Come, it’s pleased so far,’ thought Alice, and she went on. `Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?’
`That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,’ said the Cat.
`I don’t much care where–‘ said Alice.
`Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,’ said the Cat.
`–so long as I get SOMEWHERE,’ Alice added as an explanation.
`Oh, you’re sure to do that,’ said the Cat, `if you only walk long enough.'”

When I was on my way to the office this morning, the Top Ten over RX radio was on and Chico and Delamar were talking about the top ten lines from a cartoon. It only occurred to me that most of those lines are witty and meaningful. The above lines or quote was designated the best submission from listeners and it came from Lewis Caroll’s Alice in Wonderland (animated movie adaptation by Disney,1951).ย  Actually, I immediately remembered Whoopi Goldberg in the Cheshire cat character in the Emmy award-winning movie for TV Alice in Wonderland in 1999.

cheshire-cat(movie clip)

The Cheshire cat is not actually a pet breed cat. It is just a fictional character, owned by the Duchess, in the novel Alice in Wonderland that sports a grin from ear to ear. The Cheshire appears and disappears at will and it is the only character in Wonderland that listens to Alice. Alice met the cat while roaming through the woods looking for the rabbit.

There is a lot to the Cheshire cat’s representation in the modern pop culture but what struck me are its words to Alice as quoted above and what first came to my mind after that:

Most of the time, we just walk through our lives without really trying to place our goals in order. We always have this bahala na attitude. I know, I have been talking about living in the present. But living in the present is not about forgetting what the future holds for you. We would be assured of a clear blue sky the next day if we won’t start seeding for rain today. Likewise, it will continue to rain today and probably the next several days ahead if we just let it be.

Our decisions today define our tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Which road do I take?

  1. I’ve always found the Cheshire cat creepy.

    Not quite sure if I’d agree with the clear blue sky/seeding for rain today statement. I believe that some were really born to sing the blues. Hehe.

    Anyway, wanna share my fave line in an animated film, and surprisingly it ain’t from my fave Beauty & The Beast:

    “Do you trust me?”

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kilig moment. Hahaha. (Hintay ng may magsabi nun saken, LOLs)

  2. Hmm… wala akong maalala. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Pero ang sigurado ko, wala pang nagyayaya sa akin sumakay sa magic carpet. Hehe. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

