When Susan Boyle dreamed a dream…

Standard

When I was watching the finals of the third season of Britain’s Got Talent (BGT) last night for the second time, I kept on staring at Susan Boyle’s facial reactions to Ant and Dec’s announcements. Based on her reactions and up until the winner was announced, I knew something was wrong with her. Susan tried to hide the fear, pressure and disappointment but her eyes couldn’t. I knew she is emotionally “shocked” with all the attention she was getting after she belted out that iconic song I Dreamed A Dream from Les Miserables. And yes, I’ve been reading about it.

susan boyle2

After learning that Susan got herself “in” a mental health institution a day after the BGT finals, I thought I was right. Susan’s cinderella story, from a shy, church singer in a village in Scotland, virtually unknown, to an instant internet megahit and worldwide sensation, gave some inspiration to many but the inspiration itself could not cope enough. All Susan dreamt of is to sing and that she already proved that she can sing and touched the hearts of millions. Her audition was already a testimony to that dream come true. Personally, I wanted more from her after hearing that audition but observing at how the world reacted about her, especially the ever playful media, I felt pity. Yes, I really pitied her. Everything came on to her unexpectedly. It is not sufficing to say but the expectations and global attention are so much of a pressure.

It’s pretty interesting how the media and some people could lift someone up and then bring that person down.

However, I still would like to perceive everything that happened with Susan Boyle as a triumph of the human spirit. I know Susan will bounce back and will come stronger. She has done a big leap and I think stopping is a remote alternative. It seems that everything is being laid out for her dream that is to sing. Who knows, she might be a musicals diva, following the footsteps of her idol Elaine Page.

But the tigers come at night

With their voices soft as thunder

As they tear your hope apart

As they turn your dream to shame…

But there are dreams that cannot be…

Now life has killed the dream I dreamed.

Winning the BGT and performing in front of the Queen in the Royal Variety may not be for Susan but she’ll do great as a singer. She has the voice and a little training will do her more good.

*Posted by email

Leave a Reply

