AI8 Top 7 Studio Recordings

Standard

I like movie soundtracks in general but if the studio recordings of the Top 7 American Idol 8 contestants would be made into one, I wouldn’t want it save for the tracks of Kris Allen, Anoop Desai and Lil Rounds.

ai8top7studio

1. I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing- Allison Iraheta
One word – Dry. Her vocal is good but it is no match to the requirements of the song as it should be – big, full of glory notes. Allison had everything subdued. I could only listen to it once and that’s it.

2. Everything I Do (I Do It For You) – Anoop Desai
This is Anoop’s best recording so far as it was his best performance. His great vocals was in the forefront. Good mixing. But I still feel it lacked the necessary grunt in the interpretation.

3. Born To Be Wild – Adam Lambert
Worst. I could not even remember it. I don’t really like the engineering. Not worth for my iPod.

4. Have You Ever Really Loved A Woman – Matt Giraud
Surprisingly good but his version is far out. He should have sung it the way it should be, without the crazy vocal stylings he did as in his actual performance.

5. Endless Love – Danny Gokey
Hmnnn…this one I can’t really say if I like it or hate it. I like the song since I even sang it in a duet years back for a competition but I just can’t decide on Danny’s version. His raspy voice is, I think, not suited for the song.

6. Falling Slowly – Kris Allen [click to download]
Kris is really an artist. I’ll say it again – an obscure song becomes mainstream. I listened to the original several times when the Once soundtrack came out and I must say that I already love the song because of Kris’s version. Kris spells A-W-E-S-O-M-E! This one is staying in my iPod for long and I am sharing it here.

7. The Rose – Lil Rounds
I actually like this recording of Lil – her voice is just easy to listen to and the whole thing is not as boring as in her actual performance. She has a very good enunciation in this one.

My ranking:
1. Kris Allen – by a mile
2. Anoop Desai
3. Lil Rounds
4. Danny Gokey
5. Matt Giraud
6. Allison Iraheta
7. Adam Lambert

2 thoughts on “AI8 Top 7 Studio Recordings

Leave a Reply

