AI8 Grand Ole Opry Week

Standard

I have a very bad headache when I woke up this morning and I have to be on bed the rest of this sunny morning. Crap!

But the headache and the always boring American Idol country-themed week did not stop me especially when one of my favorites, Kris allen, had a what-the-hell (in a positive way) performance of Bob Dylan’s To Make You Feel My Love. I think Kris is way better this week than his Michael Jackson takes and even Adam Lambert. He’s oozing with vulnerability enough to connect with his audience. So now Simon is actually acknowledging his presence in the competition. Can you feel Kris’s love tonight? Ha!

Matt Giraud, who was given the last spot to perform, also did very well with Carrie Underwood’s So Small. After I got bored in general with his performance last week, he has nothing ‘so small’ this week with his outstanding vocals apart from the great advantage of performing last. He outsang Danny according to Simon.

I was disappointed with Lil Rounds’ take of Martina McBride’s Independence Day. Although she did not sound like Martina and way better than the rest of the women in the bunch, she should have reprised her I Will Always Love You. I think that song would put her in a better position with some of the guys.

I am sorry to say this over and over again, but Danny Gokey is really Hicks-like and that I hate about him. He sang one of the two Underwood songs for the night – Jesus, Take The Wheel. Did he look like preaching with his white coat?

And Anoop Desai! Oh the Dawg! He got it this time. He’s in my top 3 for this week, after Matt Giraud and Kris Allen. He sang Always On My Mind which I did not find in the list of songs leaked by VFTW. Nonetheless, Anoop finally showed what he got and his best – his great vocal skills honed by his exposure in a college a capella group.

About the rest –
Megan Joy Corkrey – I thought they were saving her for last. I expected her to be very advantaged this week but she gave a safe performance with Walkin’ After Midnight by Patsy Cline. I also want to credit her for standing up on the stage to perform even when she has a flu. Good Megan!

Adam Lambert – Johnny Cash’s Ring of Fire: country rocked to the edge!

Allison Iraheta – struggling with Patty Loveless’ Blame It On Your Heart

Alexis Grace – her Jolene was verging on being forgettable.

Scott MacIntyre – I pity him. Wild Angels is not for him as much as country songs in general.

Michael Sarver – “If we were all perfect, we wouldn’t need this show.” That is all I could remember of him.

Performance ranking:
1. Kris allen
2. Matt Giraud
3. Anoop Desai
4. Adam Lambert
5. Danny Gokey
6. Lil Rounds
7. Allison Iraheta
8. Alexis Grace
9. Megan Joy Corkrey
10. Scott MacIntyre
11. Michael Sarver

One thought on “AI8 Grand Ole Opry Week

Leave a Reply

