A ‘Wish’ by Sutton Foster

Standard

I first heard of Sutton Foster when I found a YouTube video of her singing On My Own from Les Miserables. When I first viewed the video and heard her sing, I thought she was too much of a trying hard and because I am big fan of Lea Salonga who brought the song and the role of Eponine to a different level. The performance was so robotic especially the phrasing. Very amateur. Not until I found another video where she sang Someone Else’s Story from Chess and on this video from her performance of Gimme Gimme of Thoroughly Modern Millie in the now defunct Rosie O’Donnell Show. Her performance was impressive. My impression of her changed since then.

Sutton Foster is most remembered about her Tony award-winning performance as Millie Dillmount in the Broadway musical Thoroughly Modern Millie, a role that was given only to her when the original choice (Kristin Chenoweth – Wicked, Pushing Daisies) got a television series role. It was a blessing in disguise because since then, Foster’s career in theater flourished and she has become one of the most bankable leading ladies in musical theater.

On February 17, 2009, Foster will finally release her debut solo album that will feature a mixture of standards and new tunes. I just finished listening to the samples of the tracks in the album Wish and her voice is just so sweet which made me remember the kind of voice (although it did not change that much now and sorry I can’t help but to compare) Lea Salonga has after Miss Saigon. But if you’re not into tunes from the musicals or the standards, this album may be a bore to you but those who have the ears for good broadway-ish music that showcases the singer’s real voice and with accompaniments that are very pleasing to the ears, then I recommend Sutton’s debut album. 

My first impression did not last long. I am now an admirer of Sutton.

Leave a Reply

