6: La Tua Semplicità (Your Simplicity)

Standard

Placido Domingo’s Amore Infinito, a compilation of songs inspired by the poems of the Pope John Paul II, is sublime! I can’t get over it. The music is not complicated as can be expected with classical/opera singers; they’re in fact singable.

I particularly like the songs Madre (Mother), La Conscienza (The Conscience), Gratitude (with Vanessa Williams), Love (with Placido Domingo Jr.) and La Tua Semplicità (Your Simplicity, with Josh Groban).

Probably the best song in the album notwithstanding Josh Groban is singing with Placido, I think the song La Tua Semplicità is simply profound. I have been looking for the English translation (since the lyrics are in Italian) but I don’t think there is one available (yet) in the net that’s cohesive enough to approximate the essence of the lyrics. I have also tried the online translators but the phrases don’t connect. So I tried to wait for a very close friend, who has stayed in Rome for years and has studied the Italian language, to be online in YM to request for a translation. So here goes the translation, which I think is more or less accurate:

La Tua Semplicità (Your Simplicity)

stare qui davanti a te
guardare con questi occhi miei
in cui convergono
le stellari vie

I am here before you,
looking from my own eyes
in which converge
those starry ways

occhi ignari di colui
che silenzioso regna in voi
da sé,dalle stelle
luce sconfinata prenderà

the eyes of whom
of which the silence reigns in you
from himself, the light
of the unbounded stars will take

penso al giorno che così pieno sarà
di stupore per la tua semplicità
che tiene in pugno il mondo
e in esso durerà
fino a qui vivrà
e al di là – al di là

I think of the day which things will fill
the amazement of your simplicity
which has the peak of the world,
and in this it will endure
until it lives
and beyond here, and beyond here.

chiuderò le palpebre
davanti al tremulo bagliore
meno io saprò
di più crederò

I will be closing my eyelids
before a trembling gaze
less i know,
the more i believe

fammi aprire gli occhi chiusi
e che tu possa avvolgere
nel tuo vento immenso
l’esile soffio d’anima

Grant me to open the eyes that are closed
and which only you can wrap them
with your immense breath
of the soul

penso al giorno che così pieno sarà
di stupore per la tua semplicità
che tiene in pugno il mondo
e in esso durerà
e intatto e qui per sempre vivrà
sempre vivrà

I think of the day which things will fill
the amazement of your simplicity
which has the peak of the world,
and it will last (endures) and whole (intact)
and here it lives forever (for always), it lives forever

penso al giorno che così pieno sarà
di stupore per la tua semplicità
che tiene in pugno il mondo
e in esso durerà
fino a qui vivrà
e al di là

I think of the day which things will fill
the amazement of your simplicity
which has the peak of the world,
and because of this it will last (endures)
until it lives
and beyond

So profound. Really. The music and the words lead me to reminisce those times when I used to spend some moments with God in the adoration chapel; those moments of ‘detachment’ from the world and just being with Him, listening in silence, and drawing strength from His presence in the Blessed Sacrament.

====

six days to go…
two days more…

13 thoughts on “6: La Tua Semplicità (Your Simplicity)

    • I thought this song was absolutely beatiful. I know you dont know me at all but I couldnt help but notice that you said you knew about where i could listen to the album. Or possibly download it. It would be nice to download the album. So if you could please give me a link of some kind in my email. It would be greatly appreaciated.

  1. I agree. La Tua Semplicita is sublime. Why the “notwithstanding” on Groban? Who would have been your preference on the duet?

    As translated on Domingo’s website:

    Here before you
    Looking with my eyes
    In which the starry paths
    Converge

    Eyes unaware of him
    Who silently reigns in you
    From himself, from the stars
    He will take boundless light

    I think of the day that
    Will be so filled
    with amazement at
    Your simplicty
    That holds the world in its grasp
    And will endure in it
    As long as it live here
    And in the beyond

    I shall close my eyelids
    Before the shimmering light
    I shall know less
    I shall believe more

    Make me open my closed eyes
    And let the faint breath of my soul
    Be wrapped
    In your vast wind

    I think of the day that
    Will be so filled
    with amazement at
    Your simplicty
    That holds the world in its grasp
    And will endure in it
    Intact and will live here
    Forever

  2. hi whoami. I said “notwithstanding” since I would love the song even more if Josh Groban sang it solo who has a lighter tone of voice than Placido’s. The song is about simplicity and I would like to have it more aethereal with Josh’s voice alone. Nevertheless, the recording is already an amazement to me; beautiful as it is.

Leave a Reply

