Promise of a good day aka Priscilla Ahn

Standard

As I woke up this morning, there were no sun rays coming from the windows. I thought it was still dawn so I went back to sleep still grunting from body aches and migraine. I finally woke up six minutes past nine and I could barely move my body. It sorely ached. I took a pain reliever and somehow, after thirty minutes, I felt relieved but only to find out that the water tank is again empty. So I have to wait for the tank to be filled before I could take a bath. Meanwhile, I thought of Priscilla Ahn’s A Good Day. I listened for the nth time.

Priscilla Ahn is an American-Korean singer-songwriter raised in Pennsylvania but is now based in Los Angeles, and debuts with the album A Good Day. She’s unfamiliar in the recording scene but when you hear the first track and debut single Dream, you will totally love her ethereal, clear, sweet and innocent voice. With that, you can’t just stop listening to her and this is besides the story behind the tracks. PASTE magazine declared her album “a classic folk album for the iPod generation.” This girl has a lot of potential.

Fortunately for me, Ahn made my day a little lighter today. And I thought I was going back to sleep while listening to her. The music is just so relaxing that you will not notice the often dark lyrics to some of the tracks; a show of vulnerability. But in the end, there is always a promise of a good day after whatever darkness there is. Ahn’s vocals can make your day right.

Morning. Sunrise. Open my eyes. And I can tell it’s gonna be a good day.

4 thoughts on “Promise of a good day aka Priscilla Ahn

Leave a Reply

