Koro Ilustrado performing RAMKALI @ MADZ ET AL 2008

Standard

At Madz Et Al 2008, Koro Ilustrado made its debut public performance. With just barely a month of actual practice, the Ilustrados made a feat for such a difficult piece (Ramkali), making it the first Philippine choir/ensemble to perform the choral piece.

Ramkali is a raga from Hindusthani classical music which originated from Bhairav Thaat (Wikipedia). This choral piece was arranged by Ethan Sperry for Miami University Men’s Glee Club.

I am entirely devoted to you, my lord
Please, my love, heed my plea
I hope to be with you, my love
I don’t have any peace of mind, love.

Leave a Reply

